Tuesday, July 1, 2008

Fabregas Nominated as Player of the Euro 2008

The Uefa Technical Team for Euro 2008 has released the list of 23 players named as the Team of the Tournament. In addition Spain’s and Arsenal's Cesc Fabregas has been nominated as the Castrol Player of the Tournament.

Cesc was chosen by the nine-strong group of 'experienced football technicians' who have been following all the matches at Euro 2008, who also took account of the internet users’ vote on the Castrol Performance Index website.

Golden Shoe winner Cristiano Ronaldo did not make the final team. Another shocked of unlisted player are finalist Miroslave Klose and Bastian Schweinsteiger also Turkey skipper Nihat Kahvenci and Arda Turan.

The official squad of 23 top performers is as follows:

Gianluigi Buffon (Italy)
Iker Casillas (Spain)
Edwin van der Sar (Netherlands)

José Bosingwa (Portugal)
Philipp Lahm (Germany)
Carlos Marchena (Spain)
Pepé (Portugal)
Carles Puyol (Spain)
Yury Zhirkov (Russia)

Hamit Altintop (Turkey)
Luka Modrić (Croatia)
Marcos Senna (Spain)
Xavi Hernández (Spain)
Konstantin Zyryanov (Russia)

Midfielders – Middle-to-Front
Michael Ballack (Germany)
Cesc Fàbregas (Spain)
Andrés Iniesta (Spain)
Lukas Podolski (Germany)
Wesley Sneijder (Netherlands)

Andrey Arshavin (Russia)
Roman Pavlyuchenko (Russia)
Fernando Torres (Spain)
David Villa (Spain)

No comments:

Post a Comment